The body is me!

Posted on 26 de Janeiro de 2015

0


42538

Nowadays I see some things that really bother me. One of them is the disrespect for life and dignity of the human body. Some philosophical and even religious lines assume the vision that the body is something bad, to be dominated, ignored and even evil. Dialectical materialism has a body vision merely material, therefore dissolvable when necessary or when it loses its usefulness. Idealism on the other side interpret the reality of the body as something immanent, where the body also loses its value and meaning.

What is the body? The body is me! This matter is not merely a biological mechanism or a temporary housing of being. The body is the tangible identity of the person, without which we are no longer. Christian theology has one of its apocalyptic pillars the resurrection and glorification of the body. In this theology, the body has its beginnings by divine hands and it´s final or eternal principle by divine glorification. Assuming a theistic and Christian worldview, I take the idea of the holy body, worthy of respect and consideration.

My philosophical and theological perspective does not allow me to despise the life or the body of anyone. That is why I am opposed to abortion, the death penalty, to certain types of euthanasia. I believe that passive euthanasia, in a terminal case the body must be respected in its last steps towards death, it is also a part of human dignity.

I’m surprised by the lack of sensitivity towards life. It can be a life of any person. Today the body is so disrespectful that people watch movies where human bodies are torn apart while they eat their dinner. We laughed when certain people die when we suppose to cry for living in an age so inhuman that leads people, disadvantaged, without culture or blinded by religious fanaticism and ideologies to commit atrocities against others is against themselves.

I know tha my philosophy of life and death goes against what prevails today. But I’m sure if we assume a similar stance as a society our world would be better, where every birth would be a party and each death an act of solemn farewell. Remember every human being at some point in life, if not the whole life, meant something of great value to somebody, especially the Giver of Life.

Please after my last breath cover my face with a white sheet, because at this very time I will be standing before him who promised that whoever believes in him, shall never die.

by Luis A R Branco

My new book:

Description

A number of years ago I learned to love poetry. I started with the simple curiosity of reading a couple of them and I fell in love. I started reading all kinds of poetry I could find and slowly I started to understand my taste for some styles and poets. Later I started writing my own poems and the first of them was “A Paixão”, that for some reason have not been translated yet in English, but it is a beautiful poem.

I see myself not as a genuine poet and I cannot find a proper word to define my style. I just let poetry to fill me up with its own beauty and I put it down on the paper. I try to follow the rules of a fitting poem, but some times it simply doesn’t work, but I still have the feeling that I should write it, and I do so.

Therefore I present to you with all my love and respect my English collection of poems. Hopefully you will enjoy it.

Luis A R Branco

Lisbon, Fall, 2014

Buy now at any major online store:

Tagged: , , ,