Ephemerality

Luis A R Branco

Luis A R Branco

I decided not win wars,
By avoiding the battles.
I decided not to face the arrows,
I just want to step aside from them.
I decided not to be right,
Silencing me before my accusers.
I decided not to count the hours,
Living only for the moment.
I decided not love too much,
Only respond to those who loves me.
I decided not to run,
Just walking in the right step.
I decided not to embrace the world,
Just what simply arise before me.
I decided not to waste time in useless discussions,
Only focus on my way.
I decided not to resist the sea waves,
But let them run over me.
I decided not to live too long,
Just enough to leave a mark on history.
I decided not to gather the goods,
Just go laying by the way what life has already had given me.
I decided not to defend me of slander,
Just continues to be who I am.
I decided not to make a vow,
I will only say yes or no.
I decided not to insist on the impossibility,
Just wait for what is possible with God.
I decided not to hold on to addictions,
I just want to be free like a sparrow.
I decided to opt for the simpler,
I will be satisfied with the little things.
Will trade swords for carnations,
Will trade shields for distance,
Will trade words for silence,
Will trade love for passion,
Will trade courage the wisdom,
Will trade complexity for what is simple,
Will trade lasting for ephemeral,
Will trade assured for search,
Will trade faith for doubt,
Will trade paths for a seat in the city square,
Will trade palaces for a gardens,
Will trade beauty for sincerity,
Will trade pleasure of happiness,
Will trade shoes for walking barefoot,
Will always trade when it is needed.

by Luis A R Branco

My new book:

Description

A number of years ago I learned to love poetry. I started with the simple curiosity of reading a couple of them and I fell in love. I started reading all kinds of poetry I could find and slowly I started to understand my taste for some styles and poets. Later I started writing my own poems and the first of them was “A Paixão”, that for some reason have not been translated yet in English, but it is a beautiful poem.

I see myself not as a genuine poet and I cannot find a proper word to define my style. I just let poetry fill me up with its own beauty and I put it down on the paper. I try to follow the rules of a fitting poem, but sometimes it simply doesn’t work, but I still have the feeling that I should write it, and I do so.

Therefore, I present to you with all my love and respect my English collection of poems. Hopefully you will enjoy it.

Luis A R Branco

Lisbon, Fall, 2014

Buy now at any major online store:

Deixe uma Resposta

